Aisling Daly defeats Alex Chambers, makes MMA history


History was made inside the Octagon last night as Ireland’s Aisling Daly defeated Australian opponent Alex Chambers via submission in the first round of their UFC fight pass bout on the finale of ‘The Ultimate Fighter’ season 20.

Daly was dominant from the beginning and landed with strikes at will before controlling Chambers as she attempted to clinch against the fence. The Australian wasn’t comfortable whatsoever striking with Daly and soon took the bout to the floor – she immediately regretted it. Brazilian jiu-jitsu brown belt Daly was superb off of her back and had Chambers caught in an armlock which the Aussie did extremely well to escape from.

Daly, though, recognized her grappling dominance and decided to take it to the floor again as she dropped Chambers with a beautiful trip. This time there was no way out. With just thirty seconds remaining in the round, Daly again slapped on the armbar before straightening it out and forcing Chambers to tap.

It was a historical moment in MMA and will go down as the first submission in the history of the UFC by a strawweight fighter – adding to the fact that Daly was already becoming the first Irish female fighter to fight inside the Octagon.

Daly’s win also ends the year for Irish UFC fighters leaving SBG with a record of 8-2 and Ireland as a whole 10-3-1 with a number of bouts for the emerald isle’s best scheduled for early next year.

Check out the full TUF finale results below.

Carla Esparza def. Rose Namajunas via submission (rear-naked choke) – Round 3, 1:26

Charles Oliveira def. Jeremy Stephens via unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 29-28)

Daron Cruickshank vs. K.J. Noons no-contest – Round 2, 0:25

Yancy Medeiros def. Joe Proctor via submission (guillotine choke) – Round 1, 4:37

Jessica Penne def. Randa Markos via split decision (28-29, 30-27, 29-28)

Felice Herrig def. Lisa Ellis via submission (armbar) – Round 2, 3:05

Heather Jo Clark def. Bec Rawlings via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Joanne Calderwood def. Seo Hee Ham via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-26)

Tecia Torres def. Angela Magana via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-26)

Aisling Daly def. Alex Chambers via submission (armbar) – Round 1, 4:53

Angela Hill def. Emily Kagan via unanimous decision (30-26, 30-26, 30-27)

Podcaster, lead MMA writer and analyst for SevereMMA. Host of the SevereMMA podcast, out every Sunday. Economics and Mathematics graduate from UCC. Also write for Sherdog. Previously of hov-mma and fightbooth. As heard on 2FM, Red FM, Today FM and more. Follow me on twitter for updates @SeanSheehanBA and on Facebook

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.