Charlie Ward and Pedro Carvalho to Feature on Bellator Dublin Main Card

SBG fighters Charlie Ward and Pedro Carvalho have been added to the main card portion of the upcoming Bellator Dublin card, per a press release from the promotion on Thursday afternoon.

The event, which takes place on Friday 5th November inside Dublin’s 3Arena, will be headlined by 24-year-old Bellator star and no. 6 ranked James “Strabanimal” Gallagher (11-1) in a bantamweight showdown versus no.3 ranked Patchy Mix (14-1). This will be Gallagher’s 4th Bellator main event and his 3rd on Irish soil.

The co-main event sees #4 Peter Queally (13-5-1) rematch #1 Patricky Freire (23-10) in a grudge match. The pair of lightweights look to settle their score once and for all after “The Showstopper” defeated “Pitbull” via TKO (Doctor Stoppage) at Bellator 258 in May.

The ranked fights keep coming, as #6 ranked Charlie Ward (9-4) will look to continue climbing the middleweight ladder as he takes on #9 Norbert Novenyi Jr (5-0). Ward is 6-1 under the Bellator banner, and the Mountmellick native is currently riding a two-fight win streak after wins over Kyle Kurtz and Andy Manzolo saw him go undefeated in 2020. London Shootfighters’ Novenyi Jr is an uber prospect, boasting an undefeated MMA record across amateur and pro. Irish fans should be familiar with the Hungarian after his impressive decision victory over Will Fleury back in 2019.

It’s #6 vs #7 when ranked featherweights collide as Pedro Carvalho (11-5) is scheduled to face MMA veteran Daniel Weichel (41-12). The former title contenders were originally scheduled to fight at Bellator 257 but the bout fell through. Carvalho ultimately lost via TKO to Jay Jay Wilson that night, and “The Game” will be looking to return to winning ways inside the Bellator cage and break his two-fight losing streak.

Additionally, five more prelim bouts were added to the card, all of which can be found below:


BELLATOR 270: Gallagher vs. Mix 
MainCard:

SHOWTIME (US) / BBC iPlayer (UK) / Virgin Media Two & Virgin Media Sport (IRELAND)

Friday, October 1 – 9 p.m. GMT/5 p.m. ET/2 p.m. PT

Bantamweight Main Event: #6-James Gallagher (11-1) vs. #2-Patrick Mix (14-1)

Lightweight Co-Main Event: #4-Peter Queally (13-5-1) vs. #1-Patricky “Pitbull” Freire (23-10)

Middleweight Bout: #6-Charlie Ward (9-4) vs. #9-Nobert Novenyi Jr. (5-0)

Featherweight Bout: #6-Daniel Weichel (41-6) vs. #7-Pedro Carvalho (11-5)

Preliminary Card:

BELLATOR MMA YouTube channel | SHOWTIME Sports YouTube channel | Pluto TV (US)

BBC iPlayer (UK) | Virgin Media Two & Virgin Media Sport (IRELAND)

5:30 p.m. GMT/1:30 p.m. ET/10:30 a.m. PT

Welterweight Bout: Ashley Reece (8-2) vs. Luca Poclit (6-1) 

Lightweight Bout: Daniele Scatizzi (10-5) vs. Brian Hooi (16-7, 1 NC)

Light Heavyweight Bout: Lee Chadwick (26-15-1) vs. Arunas Andriuskevicus (15-4)

Featherweight Bout:Ilias Bulaid (2-0) vs. Georges Sasu (4-2)

Featherweight Bout: Ciaran Clarke (3-0) vs. Jordan Barton (6-1-1)

Welterweight Bout:Nicolò Solli (3-1) vs. Bobby Pallett (5-0)

Strawweight Bout: Danni Neilan (4-0) vs. Audrey Kerouche (7-5, 2 NC)

Featherweight Bout:Asael Adjoudj (1-1)vs. Keir Harvie (4-1)

Featherweight Bout: Junior Morgan (3-0) vs. Darragh Kelly (Pro Debut)

Welterweight Bout:Stephen Costello (Pro Debut) vs. Yusuf Nazokatov (Pro Debut)

**** 

Andy is a writer, interviewer, and occasional podcaster. Andy's work features on SevereMMA.com, The Severe MMA Podcast, and EuroMMAHub.com. Andy heavily focuses on the Irish MMA scene. Feel free to reach out to Andy on Twitter @andyste123